Various – Reggae Gold 2K17

by Aug 14, 2017Reviews, Various

Reggae Gold 2K17
Reggae Gold 2K17 Sleeve Back

Release Info

Title: Various – Reggae Gold 2K17

Label: VP Records | Format: CD-DR | Street date: July 21, 2017 | Website: VP Records


  1. Tory Lanez – Luv
  2. Jah Cure – Telephone Love
  3. Vybz Kartel ft Shenseea – Loodi
  4. Charly Black – Gyal You A Party Animal
  5. Style X – Me Love My Fatty
  6. Romain Virgo – Now
  7. Spice – Sheet
  8. Christopher Martin – Magic
  9. Estelle ft Tarrus Riley – Love Like Ours
  10. Queen Ifrica – Trueversation
  11. Ikaya ft Jesse Royal – Leave You Alone
  12. Tarrus Riley – Don’t Come Back
  13. Deepjahi – Hide
  14. Aidonia – Banga
  15. Raging Fyah – Raggamuffin
  16. Jah9 ft Chronnix – Hardcore (Remix)
  17. Chronixx – Spanish Town Rockin

Disc 2 : Chromatic : The Ultimate Mix

The Reggae Gold compilation series from VP Records has presented the best of dancehall, roots and lovers rock reggae for over two decades. The recently released 24th double disc edition delivers chart toppers as well as exclusive tracks from some reggae’s biggest stars and comes with a bonus DJ mix disc by Jamaica’s Chromatic Sound with original skits by comedian Majah Hype.

One of the exclusives is from R&B songstress Estelle “Love like Ours”, a smooth combination with Tarrus Riley. Produced in fine fashion by Supa Dups, a member of the Black Chiney sound system. Another appealing duet comes from Queen Ifrica and Damian Marley. “Trueversation”, a single from her album “Climb”. The daughter of legendary singer Derrick Morgan finds in Damian the ideal partner in this hip-hop flavoured tune. Powerhouse vocalist Ikaya is featured with “Leave You Alone”, a tune on which she gets accompanied by singer Jesse Royal, this one’s also a Reggae Gold 2K17 exclusive. The third exclusive comes from Deep Jahi with “Hide”, a R&B flavoured tune pon TJ Records’ Love Intentions riddim.

Dancehall XXX smasher “Loodi” from Vybz Kartel and Shenseea is present here too, as well as Spice’s explicit tune “Sheet” produced by By Scorn Dem Productions. Romain Virgo’s dancehall hit “Now” rides the Skank and Rave riddim from Maximum Sound. Canadian rapper/singer Tory Lanez highly infectious tune “Luv” is the album opener. The tune did also very well in the remixed version with Sean Paul. Well worth spinning for lovers is Jah Cure’s “Telephone Love”. A really hilarious dancehall tune is “Me Love My Fatty” by Style X.

On the Jambe-An riddim from Techniques Records comes the crossover hit from Charly Black, “Gyal You A Party Animal”. The tough dancehall tune “Banga” delivered by Aidonia rides the 2Face Riddim. The last three tunes are reggae songs, ganja tune “Raggamuffin” being the first official video from Raging Fyah’s third album, Everlasting. Jah9 and Chronixx give us a solid remix of “Hardcore”, and the best tune closes the album. Chronixx relicks Barrington Levy’s “Prison Oval Rock” inna dubplate style, singing about the daily life in Spanish Town.

<iframe width="100%" height="335" scrolling="no" frameborder="no" src=""></iframe><!-- [et_pb_line_break_holder] -->
<iframe src="//" height="400px" width="100%" frameborder="0"></iframe><!-- [et_pb_line_break_holder] --><!-- [et_pb_line_break_holder] -->
<iframe style="width:120px;height:240px;" marginwidth="0" marginheight="0" scrolling="no" frameborder="0" src="//®ion=US&placement=B071WCFSYQ&asins=B071WCFSYQ&linkId=78e2c355dac1c3b44b13e1f180889135&show_border=true&link_opens_in_new_window=true&price_color=333333&title_color=0066c0&bg_color=ffffff"><!-- [et_pb_line_break_holder] --> </iframe>
[embedyt] [/embedyt]