Select Page

Sentinel Presents Foundation Dancehall Vol 5

Digital media, digital communication, digital currency – “Digital” is a word, that indicates innovation. Therefore, it’s often used to describe the future of things. However, in the Dancehall context it means pretty much the opposite: Although current Dancehall, like most of the music nowadays, is produced digitally, “Digital Dancehall” stands for the style of Jamaican music, that was popular in the ’80s after the “Sleng Teng” riddim completely changed the aesthetics of Dancehall. The studios, where until then bands like the Roots Radics produced the riddims for the vocalists, were now the playground for a new set of musical wizards like Steely & Cleevie, who used keyboards and synthesizers instead of live musicians.

Fast forward to 2019: The results of the creative explosion, caused by this generation change, are the focus of the fifth edition of Sentinel’s Dancehall Foundation mixtape series. 48 tunes of raw energy and simple beauty, that give you a clue why the arrival of digital production technologies caused such an earthquake in the Jamaican music scene.

Tracklist :  Sentinel Sound presents Dancehall Foundation Vol. 5

  • Sanchez – Lost My Lover [Techniques]
  • Frankie Paul – Sara [Jammys]
  • Pinchers – Loving That You Want [Jammys]
  • Thriller U – Waiting for You [Jammys]
  • White Mice – Danger In Your Eyes [J.R. Prod]
  • Barrington Levy – Darling I Need Your Loving [Mango]
  • Super Cat feat. Trevor Sparks – Dolly My Baby [Wild Apache]
  • Trevor Sparks – My Lover Is Calling Me [Super Power]
  • Pat Kelly – I Wish It Would Rain [Shellys]
  • Sanchez – Get Ready [Digital B]
  • Freddie McGregor – Don´t Hurt My Feelings [Powerhouse]
  • Frankie Paul – FP Love [Powerhouse]
  • Junior Delgado feat. Johnny Osbourne – Closer And Closer [Mango]
  • Foxy Brown – Baby Can I Hold You Tonight [Steely & Clevie]
  • Trevor Sparks – Wings Of Love [Witty]
  • Marshall One – She Turn Me On [Witty]
  • UU Madoo – Teenager In Love [Witty]
  • Lady G feat. Sugar Minott – Whole Heap A Man [Steelie & Clevie]
  • Sanchez – Sad Songs [Techniques]
  • Sanchez – Old Friend [Redman]
  • Sanchez – Loneliness [Techniques]
  • Junior Vibes – When Will I See You Again [Techniques]
  • Lady G – Samfi Lover [Techniques]
  • Frighty feat. Colonel Mite – Life [Techniques]
  • Conroy Smith – Sugar Me [Jammys]
  • Dennis Brown – True, True, True [Jammys]
  • Chuck Turner – Me She Love [Jammys]
  • Cornell Campbell – Conversation [Roof International]
  • Thriller U – Till You And Your Lover [Jammys]
  • Frankie Paul – I Wanna Rock [Jammys]
  • Singing Melody – Grooy Kind Of Love [Digital B]
  • Alton Black feat. Blacka Ranks – A Gal Just A Watch Me [Witty]
  • Donovan Champion – Just The Two Of Us [Redman]
  • Junior Vibes – I´m In Love [Redman]
  • Thriller U – Love Always Finds A Way [Redman]
  • Cocoa Tea – Sonia Come Back [Steely & Clevie]
  • Dennis Brown – Sea Of Love [Leggo Rec]
  • Sanchez – Promise [Xterminator]
  • Dennis Brown – We Are In Love [Blue Moon]
  • Beres Hammond – All Because I´m Lonley [Harmony House]
  • Beres Hammond – Doctors Order [Buffy]
  • Dennis Brown – Need A Little Loving [Ras Rec]
  • Sanchez – Tell You How I Feel [Digital B]
  • Junior Tucker – Give It Up [Digital B]
  • Trevor Sparks – You Are The Only One [Jammys]
  • Sanchez – Pretty Looks [Digital B]
  • Junior Tucker – Queen Majesty [Jammys]
  • Freddie McGregor – Let Him Try [Big Ship]

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Augustus Pablo | 1954-1999